Where’s Susie Been? -Celebrating and Running

I don’t know about you, but February is always a crazy month in my house. Maybe it’s because the month is actually short or the warming Florida weather leaves me wanting to be outside. It could be because we have so many things to celebrate with Valentine’s Day, my sister’s birthday and my birthday all in a twelve day stretch. Whatever the reason my Susie side has been busy and now it’s time to share. 

IMG_7871Adding to the fun, this year I ran the Disney Glass Slipper Challenge. A two day event where you run the Enchanted 10K on Saturday and the Princess half marathon on Sunday. This was the second time I’ve ran the Princess half marathon and the third Disney race I’ve run. (I’ve also run the Disney half marathon last January). My best friend and I signed up for the challenge together after being inspired by last year’s inaugural event. And my mom decided she wanted to run her first half marathon and got registered for the Sunday race.

15 - 615 - 5Knowing the magic that is a Disney race, we decided we wanted costumes. In the past this was something we only thought about a few days in advance. Several different ideas were tossed around, but running skirts are expensive and we wanted one for each race. Susie to the rescue. I found a great video tutorial on how to make a simple running skirt and we were in business.

15.1For the Enchanted 10K we chose to dress like Anna and Elsa from Disney’s Frozen. Partly because I already had the top from my Halloween costume. Since there were three of us for the half marathon we decided to be three of the fairies from the Tinkerbell movies. (Tinkerbell, Rosetta and Silvermist)

15 - 2Each skirt was made pretty much the same way with two side seams instead of one like in the video. But for the fairy skirts we wanted them to have a little more flair so we scalloped the bottom to represent the different fairy. IMG_7564Though this process I learned that the fairy fabric was much easier to work with then the shiny fabric we used for our Frozen skirts. I also found that measuring the elastic tighter around the waste worked better when it came to actually running in these skirts.

We had a wonderful time with the challenge and my mom did an amazing job completing her first half marathon. Our costumes added to the fun of the weekend and each only cost was about $6. 15 - 3

2 thoughts on “Where’s Susie Been? -Celebrating and Running

Leave a Reply

