Hand-Knitted Christmas Gifts

IMG_4838On January 1st, 2014, I decided that one of my new year’s resolutions was going to be to really learn to knit. Up to this point I knew only one stitch; plus I could cast on and off. This meant I could only ever knit scarves. I had friends who were producing amazing hand-knitted pieces, and it inspired me. So thank you Jill Zielinski of Knitterella and Natalie Rush of Barknknit. Without your amazing designs and beautiful handiwork I would have been unwilling to learn the skill of knitting.

After the move, and when life started to settle down, I took a beginning knitting class at my local yarn shop in August. The lovely ladies at Yarn Therapy in Tallahassee, Florida, made learning a fun and relaxing experience. As a teacher, I’m not always the best student, but these women were so knowledgeable about their craft that I was immediately hooked. At the end I was comfortable enough to start reading patterns and got started by searching free patterns on Ravelry.com.

I love making gifts for my family and friends. A homemade gift is much more personal then something generic bought in the store. Here’s a list of my favorite things to make as gifts. They were easy and quick enough that I could get everyone’s done in time.

IMG_7469

Fingerless gloves: These are great for us Florida girls, so I made one for each of my nieces and then added a cute bottle of nail polish to finish off the gift.

Cupcake Mittlets by Shantha Ramachandran

A variation of Susie Rogers’ Reading Mitts by Susie Rogers

Easy Fingerless Mitts by Maggie Smith

IMG_7223Pulswarmer Rosemarie by Knitarin-Karin Hess

IMG_7477

Infinity Scarves: Since these are all the trend right now and much of my family lives up north these were great to make. I’m looking forward to having time to make one for myself.

Chuck Knit Infinity/Eternity Cowly by Jayna Grasel at JJCrochet

Loose Knit Infinity Scarf by Moira at Devise.Create.Concoct

Triple Play Infinity Scarf by Brenda Bourg at Yarnspirations

Feather Lace Infinity Scarf by Pamela Young

IMG_7224

Hats: The guys in my family are not easy to buy gifts for, but I hope they all like the hats I made each of them.

Schneeflocke Hat by Liz Deane

Brandon Ribbed Beanie Hat by Mindy Vasil

Man Thing by Justyna Lorkowska

Dina Hat by Stevie Holcomb

IMG_7325

Teachers/Work Gifts: I knitted each a coffee cozy to go around a travel mug packed with treats. After making ten of these I’m feeling really good about my cable knitting skills, a provisional cast on(I learned how from VeryPinkKnits) on and kitchenering. This is a technique for sewing together the ends of a piece.(I learned how from Very Pink Knits on Youtube) the finished product together. I tried a few different patterns, but my favorite was a variation on Pumpkin Spice by Evan Middleton. Instead of putting in the button and the button holes I did a provisional cast on and just started right away with the cable. Then I kitchenered the final piece together.

Leave a Reply

