Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_6437Autumn in Michigan means apples, orchards and cider. Living in Florida means Fall looks a little different. It’s not a big harvest time and most days are still pushing the high 80’s and low 90’s. But even though it doesn’t feel like Fall, I still love to bake with Autumn flavors.

 

The idea for these cookies came from a combination of places. (As most of my ideas usually do) It started with the wonderful Gala apples I’ve been getting at our local Sam’s Club. We’ve been happily eating them raw, but I knew they would be great in other applications. The second part of the idea came from the breakfast cookies I’ve bought at the grocery store.  In my house, breakfast is typically a grab and go kind of event for the adults. (We’re better with getting the kids something at the table) So I figured I could emulate the store-bought breakfast cookies and without all those funny artificial ingredients. The recipe itself is also a combination effort. I started with Alton Brown’s oatmeal cookie recipe in hisI’m Just Here for More Food” cookbook as well as other oatmeal cookie recipes I’d read. In the end, they have too much sugar to really be a good breakfast option, but they do make a very tasty dessert.

IMG_6298IMG_6302

Rationale: The first time around I shredded the apples, but found it didn’t given enough apple flavor. Dicing the apples worked much better. I love using part coconut oil in baked goods. Besides the added health benefits from the coconut, the baked goods retain their moisture better. You could use 1 cup butter instead. Most recipes will tell you to sift your dry ingredients together. My sifter is impossible to clean.  I’ve found with a batter that includes chunks, like the oatmeal, whisking will work just fine. I’ve also used the food processor in place of the sifter. The baking time will vary depending on the size cookie you make. I used my tablespoon disher and the cookies were perfect at 15 minutes, but when I went up to the larger disher they needed closer to 18 minutes. Having said that the quantity will also depend on the size cookie you make. The smaller disher yielded 5 dozen, where as the larger disher only produced about 3 dozen.

 

IMG_6300

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 7.5 oz flour (about 1 1/2 cups)
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp fresh grated nutmeg
  • 8.5 oz oatmeal (about 3 cups)
  • 2 Large Gala apples pealed, and diced
  1. Cream together the butter, oil and sugars until light in color
  2. Stir in the egg and vanilla extract beat for a minute on low
  3. Whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon and nutmeg. In about 3 batches work the flour mixture into the sugar mixture.
  4. When all the flour has been combined stir in the oatmeal and the apples.
  5. Dish out batter on to a parchment linked baking sheet and cook for 15-18 minutes at 375 degrees.

 

Leave a Reply

